CA 101 Redondo Beach AES Power Plant Show


Karrie Ross at the CA 101 Show. Photo by EMS Eric Minh Swenson

So Happy to have been included in this years show put on by the Friends of Redondo Beach. Thank you for including me.

Soft Sculpture Installation: “In-Between” — We live our lives in the in-between… birth to death; morning to night; breath to breath; thought to thought not really aware of the power it holds. Time enters and leaves a door open for that “something” to happen and we live, we see, we observe, we choose, and change… in the “in-between” of the “what-is”.

We find ourselves literally squishing “stuff” into that time opening, sometimes to over-flowing into over-whelm.

“In-Between” examples this squishing in a physical form…pillows will be used and color wrapped which represent moments of time—life experiences in the form of seconds, minutes, hours, days, months, years, lifetimes, time tick-tick-ticking off by way they overlap, and groupings, exampling connections.

[portfolio_slideshow id=072515]
[portfolio_slideshow size=medium]

Each year for the past three years, over 100 artists in all media throughout California have been invited to share and exchange their latest creative efforts. Featured will be California artists at the AES Power Plant in Redondo Beach. Exhibition consists of site specific installations addressing the dormant power plant.

Opening Reception:  Friday July 31st, 2015, from 5 -10pm
Exhibit Dates:  August 1,2,7,8,9, 2015
Gallery hours:  Friday: 5-10pm   Saturday: 1-8pm   Sunday 1-6pm

CA 101 2015 is produced by the Friends of Redondo Beach Arts (FRBA), a non-profit organization dedicated to promoting the arts in Redondo Beach. Today, thanks to the efforts of many volunteers, city officials and the community at large, Redondo Beach has become the center for the arts in the South Bay. This is the fourth year for the CA 101 art exhibition with Nina Zak Laddon serving as Juror/Curator and Sandra Liljenwall as Exhibition Director for the show. The AES dormant steam station has a soaring ceiling, large expanse of windows facing the Pacific Ocean, open space and unique backdrop of the original machinery. It is the size of a football field with brick red floors and mint green turbines.

FRBA is a dedicated non-profit group that promotes the arts within the South Bay.

Curator Juror – Nina Zak Laddon
Exhibition Director –  Sandra Dyer Liljenwall
AES Power Plant, 1100 North Harbor Drive, Redondo Beach, CA 90277


Featured artists:
Debbie Abshear, Paul Anderson, Melissa Richardson Banks, James G. Bardos, April Bey, Paul Blieden, Tracy Breshears, Kay Brown, Ellen Cantor, Jennifer Celio, John Chase, Joanne Chase-Mattillo, Chenhung Chen, Vivian Wenhuey Chen, Ching Ching Cheng, Kristina Christian Kelly, Sandra E. Chu, Michael Cinnamond, Annie Clavel, Roger Coar, Debbie Collette, Patti Linnett, Dillan Conniff, Adrian Culverson, Ty Cummings, Valerie Daval, Bibi Davidson, Deidre Davidson, Otha “Vakseen” Davis III, Kate Dedlow, John Dingler, Yaron Dotan, Carl Dreizler, Lorien Eck, Gina M. Fernandez, Gerald R.Fleury, Debra Flores, Isabel Fowler, Astrid Francis, Bob Francis, Kristin Frost, Steven Fujimoto, Georgette Gantner, Rob Grad, Patty Grau, Shirley Asano Guldimann, Cie Gumucio, Shelley Heffler, Judith Herman, Jerry Hicks, Jazzmyn Hollis, Jeff Iorillo, Velda Ishizaki, Beatriz Jaramillo, Jacqueline Bell Johnson, Lauren Kasmer, Isabella Kelly-Ramirez, Sadie Khani, Andrea Kitts-Senn, Julie Kornblum, Jerry Kotler, Anita Kroeger, Lorraine Kushynski, Christina M. Lee, Kathy Leeds, Carolyn Liesy, Feng Ling, Stephen Linsley, Terry Liu, Robert E. Mackie, Dorothy Magallon, Aline Mare, George Marlowe, Vincent Mattina, Jackie May, Dan J. Mc Caw, Danny Mc Caw, John Mc Caw, Gavin McGroggan, Louisa McHugh, Cameron McIntyre, Lena Moross, Vickie Myers, Jerry Neill, Hung Viet Nguyen, Rikki Niehaus, Margaret Noble, Lucas Novak, Caley O’Dwyer, Edie Pfeifer, Ian Pines, John Post, Melissa Prichard, Dawn Quinones, Richard Rahders, Diane E. Reeves, Denis Richardson, Zachary Roach, Roxene Rockwell, Karrie Ross, Kellie Rountree-Farajpour, Linda Jo Russell, Mike Saijo, Ry Sangalang, Kristine Schomaker, Steve Seleska, Lidia Shaddow, Loraine Shue-Weber, Jean Shultz, Jesse Small, Rosine Sorbom, Michael Stearns, Diane Strack, Ariel Swartley, Jill Sykes, Jane Szabo, Roger R.Thomas, Scott A. Trimble, Earl Veits, Cheryl Walker, Elizabeth Washburn, Sue Wood, Mike Yamada, Debra Young, Suzanne Young, Ben Zask, Peggy Zask